FAQ  •  Register  •  Login

Center of Rosette Nebula

<<

Ken_nneth

Dielectric Constant

Post Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:43 am

Center of Rosette Nebula

This is my first attempt at the center NGC 2244. After tossing bad sub I ended up with 110x120s Ha, 50x120s OIII and 40x120s SII at unity. I am still working on getting to grips with processing, for this image I used AstroPixelPro for pre-processing and PixInsight for combining and later work. I had to use star mask and “MorphologicalTransformation” to reduce star size, so I had to learned something new on this image also, just hope I didn’t do to much. Tried using a Blended Channels Combination with R/K – Ha, G - 0.4Ha+0.6OIII, B – OIII as color palette for the first time. Wish I could get some more color out but it seems all I get is a very overexposed image. I would really like some feedback on my progress so far.
Kenneth

Celestron Edge HD 8/SkyWatcher Black Diamond ED80
Celestron f7 Reducer​
Sky-Watcher AZ-EQ6 GT, QHY PoleMaster
Guiding-​ZWO OAG, LodeStar x2
ZWO ASI1600, ZWO filter wheel, Baader L,R,G,B, Ra 36mm​
https://www.flickr.com/gp/[email protected]/2nAcp7
SGP,PI
<<

h2opolo

Black Hole

Post Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:25 pm

Re: Center of Rosette Nebula

You're getting there Ken. Your images are getting better and better. I still think you're slightly out of focus though. What is your focusing method? What capture software are you using? Try to utilize a lowest HFR method to get into focus. Don't trust your eyes. I learned that the hard way. Old eyes?

As far as processing goes it's a hard road. If I could offer a method I would recommend using the color mask script in Pixinsigh. Chris Gomez has a great video on YouTube to teach you how to use it. Once he taught me my images just elevated so much.